During Lent: Stations of the Cross at Saint John Kanty

The Stations of the Cross are a 14-step Catholic devotion that commemorates Jesus Christ’s last day on Earth as a man. The 14 devotions, or stations, focus on specific events of His last day, beginning with His condemnation. The stations are commonly used as a mini pilgrimage as the individual moves from station to station. At each station, the individual recalls and meditates on a specific event from Christ’s last day. Specific prayers are recited, then the individual moves to the next station until all 14 are complete.

The Stations of the Cross are commonly found in churches as a series of 14 small icons or images. and are most commonly prayed during Lent on Wednesdays and Fridays, and especially on Good Friday, the day of the year upon which the events actually occurred.

In 2000, Pope St. John Paul II urged Catholics to add a 15th Station, Christ’s Resurrection, to the Stations of the Cross. The 15th Station is not required, and anyone may pray either number, or go back and forth between 14 and 15. Many parishes that have a 15th Station omit it on Good Friday. You can see the 15th Station on this video of the Stations taking place at Saint Ann Church, which took place in 2012, just before the closure of the church: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UAhJRTKc9bw

Stations take place at Saint John Kanty on Fridays at 3. These days not all Catholic churches offer Stations. At Saint John Kanty we take pride in continuing the traditions that have carried us through over 125 years on Buffalo’s East side.  If you can…please take time to join us for Stations. 

Our Holy Week schedule will be shared with you soon!

Discover more from St. John Kanty Church - Buffalo

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

Leave a Reply